About the Department

9 College Way buildingThe Department of Communication (COMM) was created as an independent administrative unit in Fall 1999. Communication is one of the largest undergraduate majors in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, with 555 declared COMM majors and 80 minors at the end of the 2018 spring semester The department offers a Master of Arts in Communication, with 10 students enrolled as of the fall 2017 semester.

Dr. Jen Kopfman, Associate Professor of Communication, was appointed the fourth chair of the Department of Communication, effective July 2015. Kopfman has been a faculty member at the College of Charleston since 2007.


The department has 19 roster faculty and approximately 10 adjunct faculty, with the combined faculty offering 190 regular course sections during the regular academic year (excluding summer). Our talented faculty are committed to helping students excel in:

  • speaking
  • writing
  • critical thinking
  • conducting effective research

We strive to create a highly personalized educational experience with students and faculty working closely both in and outside the classroom, engaging in research, and developing a plan of study that meets their personal and professional goals.  Several of our faculty actively teach and facilitate study abroad opportunities for our students.

Our faculty are active teacher scholars who publish peer reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and textbooks. They also present research at academic conferences on a regular basis.

In collaboration with our distinguished advisory council, we sponsor several speaking events, workshops, and forums including the Bully Pulpit Series on Political Communication, Executive Speaker Series, and the Annual Distinguished Communicator Award. 

For more on the activities of our faculty, students, and alumni, please see our annual report.